Our Team

Amit Verma, MD

Tel: 718-430-8761
Fax: 718-430-8702
amit.verma@einstein.yu.edu

Dr. Verma is the head of the MDS clinic. He has been working on MDS for the last 10 years and has an active research program aimed at finding newer treatments for this disease.Dr. Verma is the principal investigator for clinical trials and also has federally funded lab that does research on MDS. He has worked at the University of Illinois, Northwestern University, and the University of Texas.

Dale Wyville, PA-C

Tel: 718-405-8547
Fax: 718-405-8526
dwyville@montefiore.org

Dale works closely with all our MDS patients and is responsible for following them on a daily basis. His responsibilities include coordinating care for all of our MDS patients undergoing clinical trials.Dale received his physician’s assistant training at Nova Southeastern University in Fort Lauderdale, FL.

Ellen Freidman, MD

Tel: 718-920-7388
ELFRIEDM@montefiore.org

Dr. Freidman sees MDS patients at our second campus. She is a co-investigator on our clinical trials in MDS.

Ira Braunschweig, MD

Tel: 718-920-4826
IBRAUNSC@montefiore.org

Dr. Braunschweig is the head of bone marrow and stem cell transplant program. He is a very experienced transplant physician and was a faculty member at MD Anderson before he came and started the transplant program at Montefiore.

Samir Parekh, MD

Tel: 718-920-4826
SPAREKH@montefiore.org

Dr. Parekh is part of our clinical and transplant team. He also heads a lab involved in research in blood cancers and lymphomas.

Ruby Yusay

Tel: 718-920-2738
RYUSAY@montefiore.org

Ruby is incharge of finding donors for possible transplant patients.

Olga Derman, MD

Tel: 718-920-4826
ODERMAN@montefiore.org

Dr. Derman is part of the transplant team and takes care of MDS and leukemia patients at Montefiore hospital.

Stefan Barta, MD

Tel: 718-920-4826
SBARTA@montefiore.org

Dr. Barta is part of the transplant team and takes care of MDS and leukemia patients at Montefiore hospital and at Our Lady of Mercy Hospital.

Tatianna Carrillo

Tel: 718-405-8545
Fax: 718-405-8526
tcarrill@montefiore.org

Tatianna is the study coordinator responsible for monitoring all patients on our clinical trials. She comes to us after training at Hunter College.

Joe Zaino

Tel: 718-920-2006
jzaino@montefiore.org

Joe is a study coordinator working with in both the in- and out-patient settings at the Moses campus of Montefiore Medical Center.

Gloria Nelson

Tel: 718-405-8512
GNELSON@montefiore.org

Gloria is our social worker and is a very helpful advocate when you are first diagnosed and unsure what to do next. She offers helps on counseling, group support, community support programs, and financial information about health insurance and disability.One of her favorites quotes is “Hope is like a candle in the depth of Darkness, it changes our ability to see. Remember that you have a medical team that cares and will help you so you don’t face the challenges of your diagnosis alone.”

Kimcita Vargas-Walker

Tel: 718-904-2503
Fax: 718-822-0335
kvargasw@montefiore.org

Kim is the Central Protocol Office & Data Management Unit Coordinator for the Cancer Clinical Trials Office at the Montefiore-Einstein Center for Cancer Care.

Shakira N. Forde, CCRP

Tel: 718-904-2534
Fax: 718-822-0335
sforde@montefiore.org

Shakira is a Regulatory Affairs Coordinator for the Cancer Clinical Trials Office at the Montefiore-Einstein Center for Cancer Care working primarily with consortium and cooperative group clinical trials.

Cristina Garcia-Miller

Tel: 718-904-3145
Fax: 718-822-0335
cbarba@montefiore.org

Cristina is a Regulatory IRB Consultant for the Cancer Clinical Trials Office at the Montefiore-Einstein Center for Cancer Care working primarily with industry-sponsored clinical trials.

Christine Himics

Tel: 718-430-3516
christine.himics@einstein.yu.edu

Christine is our cancer center adminsitrator who is in charge of handling the clinical trial contracts.